We Won’t Survive This World by Remaining Polite

Michaella Henry
4 min readJun 12, 2019
Photo by Piotr Wilk on Unsplash

Sometimes I say ‘sorry’ for no reason: when I have to squeeze by someone in tight spaces, in situations where I almost bump into someone, even when someone else bumps into me. ‘Sorry’ rolls out of my mouth before I can assess whether I am to blame because no matter the issue, women are accustomed to bearing the burden.

While walking on the sidewalk in front of my house at age 13, an older man driving alone in a car pulled over and asked me to get in. He said something about wanting to take me for a ride so we could “enjoy ourselves.” Harassment has ranged from men blocking my path to strangers whispering in my ear in public, or catcallers dragging me by the arm until I pay attention to them. The lengths men will go to dominate the space I occupy has pushed me to start being more assertive than I usually am or ever desire to be.

Some tips for myself and others on how I hope to accomplish this.

Problem: a strange man on the street asks to sleep with me, or whispers something vulgar in my ear

Response: With a serious expression, please turn to him and say, “I have chlamydia, so I don’t think that would be a very good idea,” then keep walking. He probably won’t be able to think of anything rude to say quick enough, and their reaction to that clapback will surely brighten your day.

--

--

Michaella Henry

Writer and UX Designer. Neurodivergent. Intersectional Feminist. Crafting personal narratives that make strangers feel less alone. Psych, Gender Equity, Race.